My husband and I are working our way though the book “Changes That Heal” by Dr Henry Cloud. He talks about how we all have conflict between our “Ideal” self and our “Real” self. Understanding that if the Ideal self is left in control it will prevent the Real self from functioning properly so it’s important to have a healthy balance between the two.

As I was walking into school last week I was reflecting on this idea with regard to the Marathon training. We have now completed week two of the training which I am proud to say I have accomplished. The first part of this 26 week process is to prepare us to run/walk a 5K in eight weeks of which we have six weeks left. During week one I had a tough time running for two minutes. I thought it would have gotten easier in week two which it did in some ways so I feel like I’m making good progress but it’s not as good as I had hoped. My Ideal self was arguing with my Real self about my progress so I was feeling a little discouraged because I didn’t feel like I was measuring up. Something I often refer to as feeling “Less Than <” from my days in college math class. Later my instructor would tell the class our next paper is going to be on the topic of “Ideal vs Reality” so I knew I had to write about it here.

I made a list of things to consider which actually helped me to put it into perspective so I’m going to share my list here because I have a feeling you may relate to my list or some items on it anyway. It will help to give you an idea of what I’m talking about.

           The Ideal Me  vs  The Real Me

  • Up Daily at 5:00 AM                 vs   Up Daily at 7:00 AM
  • In Bed by 10:00 PM                   vs   In Bed by 11:30 PM
  • Exercises Daily at 6:00 AM     vs   Exercises Daily at 9:00 AM
  • Weighs in at 135 lbs                  vs   Weighs in at (Frown Face Here)
  • Has ample supply of Money   vs   Has no Money

Can you relate to my list? I had to ask myself; Does it really matter? I think it’s important to get up at 5:00 AM because my husband does but does it really matter? I admire people who get to the gym at 6:00 AM but if I go in at 9:00 AM does it really matter? Yes, I struggle with my weight but I am completely healthy in every other way so does it really matter? I’m run/walking a Marathon that I will probably be the last to finish. Does it really matter?

In Texas Holdem there’s a term called “ALL IN” when you put all your chips into the pot betting on winning that hand or be out of the game. I am “ALL IN” to this Marathon no matter how long it takes me to finish so does it really matter how long it takes me?

What’s on your list? Does it really matter?

Leave a comment